🦋 On the Subject of Creativity

Hey friends 🙂,
This was drawn out of my weekly newsletter, the Craftsmen Journal, enjoy!

🧠 My thought on Creativity

Being Creative is grossly misunderstood in my opinion, it’s pictured as that holy grail meant for some maniacally talented nerds, backed up by the forces of inspiration while the rest of us sit to consume the birthings of their genius creation. But I bet to say there’s a creative side to everyone that cries out for expression day by day, it’s the feeling of wanting to do something outside of your daily circular routine.

The idea is making out time to get your hands dirty on your object of obsession that’s novel and valuable to your immediate environment to start with, you know you could do a better job than the folks you watch on youtube but you never sat in front of your camera, do it! your 9 am - 5 pm notwithstanding, create a blog, share your depth, get it out there and let the world benefit from you

This was why I ventured into creating a newsletter, the Craftsmen Journal

  • To help you find your Craft
  • To provide insights to help you stay consistent & relevant
  • To walk you through creating one of the best Pieces the world has ever seen by pointing you to great resources who have done it.

This 🎙️ Podcast nailed it - Creative Success by Art of Manliness

Here are some key takeaway

  • Creativity is a combination of Novelty & Quality, so as your craft is both Novel and Valuable, you’re on the creative lane.
  • Aspiring creators perceive Imitation as a dirty act while Great creators of all time know creativity to be a social construct, which means everything that’s come before you is part of how people internalize & judge what is said to be creativity hence, build on the best in your world.

❤️ Things I loved over the week

✍🏻 Quote - by Ralph Waldo Emerson, a Letter to his daughter Ellen

I stumbled on this quote in James Clear’s newsletter, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller, Atomic Habits, and it resonated with me a lot.

Finish every day and be done with it. For manners and for wise living it is a vice to remember. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it well and serenely, and with too high a spirit to be cumbered with your old nonsense. This day for all that is good and fair. It is too dear, with its hopes and invitations, to waste a moment on the rotten yesterdays

🎧 Audiobook - Listening to Unfair Advantage by Ash Ali & Hasan Kubba.

The key idea of this book is that we often look at people who are wealthy, famous, or even attractive, and think, “Wow, they’ve got a lot going for them.” But the truth is, these aren’t the only kinds of advantages that exist. Wherever you find yourself in life, you’ve got something you can leverage. Drawing on their extensive experience in the start-up world, co-authors Ash Ali and Hasan Kubba break down various personal advantages and how they can be leveraged for the benefit of your business, also demonstrating how we all have something that can catapult us to success. Super fun listening so far, you should try it.

🎙️Podcast - Being Imperfect in Public by Arvid Kahl

I’ve always been very concerned with errors in whatever content I put out there, for instance in my recent youtube video, I forgot to cut out a place where I struggled to define a concept (Watch the clip here 😄), previously I would have been very sad and feel bad, but this podcast made me embrace the imperfect side of creativity, given you’ve done all you are supposed to do, few errors only depicts your human nature. love it!

📚 Book - Show Your Work by Austin Kleon

I read this book in 2021 and my journey to literally showing my work began and I picked up my jottings on it to ruminate the depth of insight in the book. I highly recommend it for everyone who’s got a craft. Kleon says awesome stuff like

You Don’t Have to Be a Genius; Share Something Small Every Day, and Stick Around. Get your hands on it.

🎭 Something Different

It's a 🎙️Podcast - Russia, Ukraine, and the West by Dr Peterson Frederick Kagan on the JBP Podcast

I've listened to Dr Jordan B. Peterson over the years and to be honest I'm in awe of his superpowers, he's invited Professor Frederick Kagan on the show, a former professor of military history to give a prowess and astute breakdown about the ongoing war, what Vladimir Putin is really up to, from his history as a KGB Spy till now, how & why Ukrain have done valiantly well, and how it all relates with the west. It’s a fine piece, I highly recommend it.

🙂 EndNote

No one, I mean NO ONE, can create the way you do when you decide to start and stay consistent at it. I’d like you to please share this issue of the newsletter with like minds within your space, it goes a long way.

Subscribe to get the next issue directly in your inbox this week Saturday.

See you in the next issue, #KeepCreating. Dami, 👋